CTC Source Protection Committee:
Functions, Eligibility, Obligations and Qualifications

Apply to Join the CTC Source Protection Committee

You may apply to become a member of the CTC Source Protection Committee by completing the online application form, or by downloading and submitting a completed hard copy of the form.

Hard copy applications should be submitted to:

Janet Ivey, Program Manager
CTC Source Protection Region
Email: ctcswp@cvc.ca
Post or in person: 1255 Old Derry Road Mississauga, ON L5N 6R4

Deadline for applications:

  • Sunday October 10, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. EDT

Your application must include:

  • A brief description of your interest in and qualifications for the vacant sector seat
  • A summary of your knowledge about the CTC Source Protection Region watersheds and communities and related drinking water issues
  • A summary of your overall knowledge and expertise (including communication skills, and work, volunteer, committee and community experience)

Source Protection Committee: Summary of Functions

  • The CTC Source Protection Committee (SPC) was created by Ontario Regulation 288/07 under the Clean Water Act, 2006. The SPC, as set out in the Regulation, consists of 21 full members and three liaisons (non-voting members representing the Medical Officers of Health, Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks, and the Source Protection Authorities), plus the Chair.
  • Full members of the committee include seven municipal representatives, seven economic or industrial sector representatives (agricultural, petrochemical, etc.), and seven other representatives (e.g., public, environmental, etc.).
  • The SPC brings together the key stakeholders in each watershed. There will be strong municipal representation on the Committee, which will also include representatives from agriculture, industry and a range of other stakeholders within the source protection areas.
  • The CTC SPC developed the initial (1) terms of reference; (2) three assessment reports; and (3) a source protection plan.
  • The SPC is responsible for ensuring that stakeholders and the public are consulted. Source Protection Plans are locally developed, delivered, and updated using a science-based approach to protecting municipal drinking water supplies.
  • The SPC determined the initial actions (e.g., policies) required to address threats to municipal sources of drinking water. The current source protection plan will be updated as appropriate and will include broad consultation with municipalities, conservation authorities, property owners, farmers, industry, businesses, community groups, public health officials and the public to develop workable, effective solutions.
  • The CTC Source Protection Plan came into effect December 31, 2015. The CTC Source Protection Plan sets out policies so that significant drinking water threats will cease to be or do not become a significant drinking water threat. Plans also identify who is responsible for taking action, timelines for these efforts, and how progress will be measured.
  • Generally, Source Protection Plans are implemented through existing regulatory requirements or approvals, zoning by-laws, official plan amendments and education or voluntary initiatives.
  • Plans include monitoring and reporting on implementation to measure the effectiveness of the actions taken to protect drinking water sources and ensure they are protected in the future. The SPC is responsible for monitoring the implementation progress.
  • The CTC Source Protection Plan may be subject to section 34 amendments initiated by the source protection authority, as well as section 35 amendments and a section 36 Order to be updated by the Minister.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for membership on the CTC Source Protection Committee, individuals must either:

  • Reside in, own, or rent property within the CTC Source Protection Region
  • Be employed or operate a business within the CTC Source Protection Region, or
  • Be employed by a Municipality that is in the CTC Source Protection Region

Members and employees of a conservation authority within the CTC Source Protection Region are not eligible to sit on the CTC Source Protection Committee.


  • Demonstrated understanding of:
  • Sector being represented
  • Terms and concepts associated with environmental management
  • Local watersheds, communities and issues
  • Proven ability to act as a liaison for the sector being represented
  • An openness to working cooperatively with representatives from other sectors
  • Demonstrated ability to navigate group dynamics
  • Commitment to mutual respect for others and for their views and interests
  • Demonstrated problem-solving, decision-making and communication skills
  • Demonstrated ability to weigh different points of view
  • Demonstrated interest in seeking solutions
  • Contacts within the sector being represented
  • Willingness and ability to travel throughout the Source Protection Region

Obligations of SPC members

  • Contribute positively to amendments to the Assessment Reports and CTC Source Protection Plan for the CTC Source Protection Region
  • Review reports and materials (including scientific and technical reports) in advance of meetings
  • Provide constructive, collaborative and science-based input on local source protection planning issues
  • Act as a liaison between the sector represented and the Committee
  • Work collaboratively with other Committee members and stakeholder groups
  • Make decisions at the Committee table
  • Regularly attend meetings (three to six annually) of the CTC Source Protection Committee (and applicable working groups) throughout the duration of the appointment
  • Attend and participate in public meetings, information sessions and forums
  • Attend training sessions
  • Participate, at the request of the Chair, in province-wide committees as a representative of the Committee
  • Respect confidential information and abide by the process in place to safeguard confidential information
  • Comply with the Code of Conduct and Rules of Procedure established by the Committee

Term and Time Commitment

Applicants should be prepared to make a five-year commitment to participate on the CTC Source Protection Committee.

Committee meetings are generally three or six times per year. Dates, location and frequency of the meetings are determined by the Committee.

In addition to the Committee meetings, the Committee members will be expected to attend training sessions, and occasional public meetings and working group meetings, if established for the sector being represented.

Committee members should also expect that they may occasionally need to travel across the Region to attend meetings.


Members will be paid a $200 per diem for attending meetings. Travel costs for use of your personal vehicle will be reimbursed at the rates set by Credit Valley Conservation (CVC).


Please direct all questions about the CTC Source Protection Committee, the application process, and responsibilities of appointees to:

Janet Ivey
Program Manager, CTC Source Protection Region
Email: ctcswp@cvc.ca
Post or in person: 1255 Old Derry Road Mississauga, ON L5N 6R4